Skipping the print queue?

Discuss your general Proclaim related queries here.
ethusiastp
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 12:33 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Skipping the print queue?

Post by ethusiastp »

Hi All,

Is anyone aware of anyway that the print queue can be skipped on a per document basis? I'm looking to put in place an process that involves generating documents but not having them print. Historically if this was a task server job, you could have it on a task server that doesn't have any print related jobs and just have the print queue pile up and never print from it. I'm aware you can have direct printing on, but I'm looking for a per-document basis as it's going to be a user action rather than an automated action on a task server.

Thanks,

revellbikes
Posts: 458
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 12:44 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: Skipping the print queue?

Post by revellbikes »

Each document has a form associated with it. Each form controls the number of pages, file copy and original copy. Set both to 0 for that particular document and you're sorted I think?

biglebowski
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2018 12:39 pm

Re: Skipping the print queue?

Post by biglebowski »

Am I correct in think that even if you set the No. of Copies and No of File Copies in the form to 0 that the document still appears in the print queue, but obviously when 'Print/Fax' is selected does not send the document to the printer.

Is there a way to bypass the print queue completely?

Cheers

revellbikes
Posts: 458
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 12:44 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: Skipping the print queue?

Post by revellbikes »

No, not that I know of.

You can set a user to Direct Print which sends everything to the printer rather than a print queue, or you have print queue setup and all documents end up in there. (Just a reference for people searching in the future - switching this on or off is done in user profiles, Email/Printing tab and select the Direct Printing tick box to disable print queue.)

With the method discussed, the user would select all documents and print, ones with 0 copies would simply not print. So not really an issue that it's in the list in my opinion, but I guess it could be annoying for some people?

JT1990
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 4:09 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Skipping the print queue?

Post by JT1990 »

Also been wondering the same - Steve may have some magical way?

steve
Posts: 415
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 10:20 pm
Been thanked: 93 times

Re: Skipping the print queue?

Post by steve »

Hmm, not sure I follow exactly what you are trying to achieve, but as a bodge, copy the document directly to the printer share?
See post 4 on this thread
https://www.proclaimforum.co.uk/viewtopic.php?t=747

JT1990
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 4:09 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Skipping the print queue?

Post by JT1990 »

steve wrote:
Wed Dec 04, 2019 7:43 pm
Hmm, not sure I follow exactly what you are trying to achieve, but as a bodge, copy the document directly to the printer share?
See post 4 on this thread
https://www.proclaimforum.co.uk/viewtopic.php?t=747
Put simply:

- I want some documents to hit the print queue and others not.

Setting 0 in copy and file copy in the form section does nothing, they still appear. Just wondered if there was any way, on a document by document basis, to stop them even appearing in there. Will take a look at that thread!