Server OS Upgrade

Questions around Server admin, DB admin, email, printers, scanners etc related to Proclaim.
Post Reply
David P
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 10:33 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Server OS Upgrade

Post by David P » Fri Sep 27, 2019 2:18 pm

Has anyone attempted an in place server OS upgrade before?
I'm planning our route off 2008 R2 and the quickest win appears to upgrade to 2012 R2 in the short term and then migrate to new tin and 2016/19 later on. Eclipse have told me they are not aware of any impact on Proclaim but 'have heard a couple of clients have come off badly and lost data'.

Interested to hear any other experiences (I'm aware of the migrate vs in place arguments generally speaking..... working within a tight budget this year!) that you may have had.

revellbikes
Posts: 451
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 12:44 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: Server OS Upgrade

Post by revellbikes » Fri Sep 27, 2019 4:33 pm

Take DB down, take a safe copy. Upragde the server, fire up Proclaim, check it works, roll back if you have any problems?

David P
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 10:33 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Server OS Upgrade

Post by David P » Mon Sep 30, 2019 9:22 am

That's what I'm thinking. I've done plenty of in place upgrades over the years but nothing with OpenEdge installed.
Only one way to find out for certain....

rob1
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 10:41 am

Re: Server OS Upgrade

Post by rob1 » Thu Nov 14, 2019 8:13 pm

i was wondering if you went ahead with the upgrade after and what the outcome was?

ive been monkeying about on stuff and encountered an error and was wondering if you had experienced something similar or knew what the cause was

Error occured while creating/connecting to automation server for: redemption.RDOsession
0x8004010f
error code: 0x8004010f Login common\login.r (5894)

David P
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 10:33 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Server OS Upgrade

Post by David P » Fri Nov 15, 2019 11:36 am

I've not had a chance yet. I figured I needed to dedicate a weekend to testing but haven't had any free.
To me, that error suggests an issue with the Exchange user account.

Post Reply