Task Server - scheduling an Advanced Report why is the output in Notepad?  [SOLVED]

Discuss your general Proclaim related queries here.
coastal_living
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2021 11:58 am
Has thanked: 8 times

Task Server - scheduling an Advanced Report why is the output in Notepad?

Post by coastal_living »

I have a Proclaim Advanced Report that I would like to schedule on the Task Server to run every day at 5am. I have set this up and it is running every day at 5am perfectly fine - the only problem is that it keeps producing the output as Notepad and I can't work out why. The Default output of the Report itself is set as Excel and this is how I want the Task Server to output it as well. What have I missed?

Output screenshot.jpg
Output screenshot.jpg (141.81 KiB) Viewed 398 times
Task Server Task Job screenshot.jpg
Task Server Task Job screenshot.jpg (183.66 KiB) Viewed 398 times
Report Detail screenshot.jpg
Report Detail screenshot.jpg (120.5 KiB) Viewed 398 times

David P
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 10:33 am
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Task Server - scheduling an Advanced Report why is the output in Notepad?

Post by David P »

Odd, just checked one of mine and everything looks ok. Have you got the XLS file extension included in the save file name?

David P
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 10:33 am
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Task Server - scheduling an Advanced Report why is the output in Notepad?

Post by David P »

Actually, I think it may be because your report parameters are blank.

SteampunkProfessor
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 2:48 pm
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Task Server - scheduling an Advanced Report why is the output in Notepad?  [SOLVED]

Post by SteampunkProfessor »

You need to make sure that the Output option in Report Parameters is set to Excel View

coastal_living
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2021 11:58 am
Has thanked: 8 times

Re: Task Server - scheduling an Advanced Report why is the output in Notepad?

Post by coastal_living »

Thank you, the report parameters is what I needed to set. As a follow-up question, how can I get the report emailed to myself via the Task Server? Do I need outlook or something installed on the Task Server?

David P
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 10:33 am
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Task Server - scheduling an Advanced Report why is the output in Notepad?

Post by David P »

Yes, you'll need Outlook running on the server.